Outcomes of Paramedic Training?

Paramedic training provides you with life support skills for work in pre-hospital emergency care as a Basic Life Support medic (BLS). The most common entry point for those looking to work as a medic is the HLT41115 – Certificate IV Health Care.

Completion of this course, delivers a nationally recognised qualification and opens up new opportunities in the private heath care sector. This qualification is simply a stepping stone to a more challenging career in the pre-hospital emergency health care sector.

The Certificate IV in Health Care is not sufficient to allow you to apply for jobs as an ambulance paramedic with a State Ambulance Service. These positions require a Bachelor degree in Paramedic Science and with the onset of a national register for paramedics in Australia, it has set the standards of entry even higher.

What’s Involved?

The various stages of paramedic training can be broken up into 3 simple sections:

  • Theory & Assessment
  • Practical & Scenarios
  • Practical Experience

Each stage follows a similar pattern of learning and assessment.

At the College our paramedic training is broken up into manageable sections that make the learning process simple and effective.

Since the introduction of new HLT units (early 2016), every training package has been upgraded with new and more challenging units of competency, to stretch your problem solving skills.

Enhanced Training Development

The enhancements made to the delivery of our online training systems has revolutionised the way this training is delivered. Students now have access to a more flexible online learning platform, making studying more convenient by removing the need to attend a physical classroom.

As an example, the Certificate IV in Health Care contains 5 Modules and 16 Units of Competency.

  1. Safe Work Practices (3 units of competency)
  1. Clinical Practice 2 (3 units of competency)
  1. Paramedic Practice 1 (3 units of competency)
  1. Paramedic Practice 2 ( 3 units of competency)

Practical Assessments

  1. Professional Practice (4 units of competency)


Subjects Covered (Certificate IV)

  • HLTWHS002 – Follow safe work practices for direct client care
  • HLTINF001 – Comply with infection prevention and control policies and procedures
  • HLTWHS006 – Manage personal stressors in the work environment
  • BSBMED301 – Interpret and apply medical terminology appropriately
  • HLTAAP002 – Confirm physical health status
  • HLTAMB007 – Assess and deliver basic clinical care
  • HLTAMB011 – Manage a routine non-emergency scene
  • HLTAMB001 – Follow procedures for routine safe removal of patient
  • HLTAMB014 – Transport non-emergency patients under operational conditions
  • HLTAMB003 – Transport emergency patients
  • HLTAMB002 – Implement safe access and egress in an emergency
  • HLTAMB013 – Contribute to managing the scene of an emergency
  • CHCDIV001 – Work with diverse people
  • CHCLEG001 – Work legally and ethically
  • CHCCOM005 – Communicate and work in health or community services
  • HLTAMB012 – Communicate in complex situations to support health

VET Accreditation

The Certificate IV in Health Care (and every single course the College delivers) is a VET (Vocational Education Training) accredited course that has been assessed by *ASQA (Australian Quality Standards Framework) as meeting the Standards for VET Accredited Courses 2012 and the **Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).

Accreditation is formal confirmation that the training and subsequent course material:

  • is nationally recognised
  • meets an established industry, enterprise, educational, legislative or community need
  • provides appropriate competency outcomes and a satisfactory basis for assessment
  • meets national quality assurance requirements
  • is aligned appropriately to the AQF where it leads to a qualification


* Vocational education and training (VET) is that part of tertiary education and training which provides accredited training in job related and technical skills. It covers a large number of careers and industries like medical, health, trades, retail, office work, hospitality and technology.

** The Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) is the national regulator for Australia’s vocational education and training sector. ASQA regulates courses and training providers to ensure nationally approved quality standards are met.

*** The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) is the national policy for regulated qualifications in the Australian education and training system. It incorporates the quality assured qualifications from each education and training sector into a single comprehensive national qualifications framework.


On average the Certificate IV Health Care can be completed in 12-18 months.

There are many factors that determine course completion time frames, such as personal circumstances, current work situation, family commitments, you location and availability.

Find out more about Paramedic Training Courses

  1. Certificate III in Non-Emergency Client Transport
  2. Certificate IV in Healthcare (Ambulance)
  3. Diploma of Paramedic Science (Ambulance)

Apply now

  1. Complete the application to study form.
  2. Self-book a phone interview with our selection team.
  3. Application to study and interview records reviewed by selection panel.
  4. If successful, a formal offer will be made to study at the College
  5. Student acceptance
  6. Confirmation of enrolment